Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member
Community Search


Minneapolis | June 25-27, 2017

Deadline Extended May 31 at 8 p.m. EDT



The Collaborative Bar Leadership Academy (CBLA) is a collaborative effort among the American Bar Association, Hispanic National Bar Association, National Bar Association, National Native American Bar Association, and NAPABA. Through this collaboration, the CBLA will strengthen the pipeline of diverse bar association leaders through bar leadership training and professional development programs. The CBLA will benefit current and future bar leaders, the bar association community, and the legal profession overall, and lays the foundation for further collaborative efforts by the sponsoring bar associations to foster diversity and inclusion in the legal profession.

CBLA is intended for:

  • Up-and-coming bar leaders who have been in practice for 5-15 years.
  • Have served as officers of a NAPABA affiliate and/or co-chair of a NAPABA committee.

Reasons to Apply

  • Network with leaders from your organization and multiple national bar associations;
  • Learn, discuss, and develop leadership skills important to your future as a lawyer and as a future bar leader;
  • Have the opportunity to absorb a wide range of leadership advice from leading experts in the field in a collegial and close-knit setting; and
  • Develop the skills necessary to successfully organize, operate, and lead local and national bar associations.

Apply | Deadline Extended to May 31

  • Submit an application HERE.
  • Deadline has been extended to May 31 at 8 p.m. EDT.

Participants for the CBLA will be determined by a juried selection process. Applicants will be asked to submit a brief essay of 250-500 words, a CV/resume, and two letters of recommendation. A registration fee of $100 will be charged to confirmed participants.

More information about the program can be found on the CBLA websitePlease contact CBLA Steering Committee members Jin Hwang (, Greg Schwartz (, or Gary Zhao ( with any questions.

CBLA Class of 2015

Hogene Choi
Lorna Garcia de Guzman
Kenie Ho
Charles Jung
Malika Kanodia
Anita Lam
Benjamin Lin
Qingqing Miao
Richard Ramones
Pooja Regmi
Ireneo Reus III
Gregory Schwartz
Eun Chong (EJ) Thorsen
Su Ming Yeh

CBLA Class of 2014

Bridgette Ahn
Thy Bui
Christopher Chan
Audrey Chang
Amanda Chua
James Derry
Emily Faber-Densley
John Gray
Rio Guerrero
Irene Kao
John Laney 
Cynthia Lee
Margaret Ling
Ronald Nguyen
Dainen Penta
Christine Pham
William Wang
Robert Wong
Tacie Yoon
Inaugural CBLA Class (2013)

Rahat Babar 
Harry Budisidharta 
Christopher Chan 
Kelly Chen 
Sun Choi 
Amanda Chua 
Gwenlynn D'Souza 
James Derry 
Minh Hoang 
Chris Hope 
Eugene Kim 
Jeannie Kim 
David Mesa 
Clara Ohr 
John Park 
Smeeta Ramarathanam 
Daniel Sakaguchi 
Florelee Wan 
Kyun Yi 
Tacie Yoon 
Quyen Tu